Amazon, new payment method makes cards unnecessary

Amazon adds a new payment method: the checking account. To use it, you need to enter your IBAN number. Here's how to use it

Finally you can pay, even on Amazon Italy, by direct debit. The new payment method arrived in our country a few days ago and is in addition to the credit/debit card and account balance. In this way we no longer have to make sure we have enough credit on our prepaid card.

Amazon's CC debit works through the international SEPA circuit (Single Euro Payments Area), so it can only be used for purchases from European sellers. At the moment, this payment method is still in an experimental phase, so the procedure of entering the account in our profile could give some errors, but everything should go full swing within a few weeks. In any case, not all products on Amazon will be able to be purchased with the current account charge, regardless of the nationality of the seller, and for some you still need a credit card.

How to pay with your current account on Amazon

To be able to choose the current account charge as a payment method for purchases on Amazon we need to register our account among the payment options. To do this we need to go to Accounts and Lists > My Account > Payment Options. Here, at the bottom, we will find the new option "Enter a new bank account" and we will see the SEPA logo on the right. Obviously we'll have to enter the BIC code (SWIFT code), the IBAN and the first and last name of the current account holder we want to use to pay on Amazon.

Paying on Amazon with a current account: what you need to know

When we choose to pay via current account on Amazon, the payment will actually be made only when the goods are shipped. So if our order includes multiple shipments we will find ourselves with multiple consecutive debits on the account. In addition, again due to the limits of the SEPA system, payments must only be in Euros and to these countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Monaco, San Marino, Switzerland.