End of roaming in Europe, set the date: June 15, 2017

After two years of work, the European Union has set the date to put an end to roaming: from June 15 you will surf without additional costs

The European Union takes the last step towards the end of roaming and the creation of the Digital Single Market and sets the first date by which all phone companies will have to adapt to the new rules: June 15, 2017. Surfing and calling in any of the 27 EU countries will cost the same for all European citizens.

It has been more than two years since the European Union worked on the establishment of the Digital Single Market to create a single telecommunications market offering new services to users. Over the past year, however, the European Union has clashed with telecom giants who have tried to put the brakes on the legislative process to create the Digital Single Market, concerned about the impact of the new rules on companies' balance sheets. Negotiations went ahead and an agreement was reached that made both companies and the European Union happy, which was able to announce the end of roaming from June 15, 2017.

What will change for consumers

From June 15, all European citizens will pay the same amount to be able to call, surf and send messages within the 27 countries of the European Union. The agreement, before entering into force, however, must be voted by the European Parliament, but there should be no problems. Thanks to the Digital Single Market, users should be able to start saving money on calls from any country in Europe, as long as it is part of the EU. Thanks to this move should increase competition between the various telephone operators and should decrease consumption. We'll see from June 15 what will actually change.