End roaming in Europe, Vodafone eliminates extra charges in 40 countries

Good news for Vodafone customers because as of today the era of overcharging for calls made outside their own country is over. With a few exceptions...

Vodafone complies with the new European Union directives and communicates 40 European countries where roaming will no longer be paid. The roaming-free countries are almost all located in Europe, including all the main tourist destinations: Italy - for foreigners - Spain (including the islands), Portugal and France, but also the "French territories" that are located outside the Old Continent.

To benefit from Vodafone's free roaming service you need to be a new customer or upgrade your monthly consumption offer. If you have a contract, again, you will need to review your pricing plan to take advantage of the roaming service. This move comes ahead of the European Commission's plan to abolish all roaming charges in Europe starting next June, so expect similar moves from all providers within the next couple of months. Not least because the fines for offenders will be pretty "steep".

Stop roaming, but not everywhere

Vodafone has also launched a new roaming service that gives you access to a discounted minimum fee when you're in 60 other countries - where the surcharge is still in place - including the US, Canada, China, Russia and Australia.

Here's the full list where roaming has been abolished: Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canary Islands, Croatia, Channel Islands (including Guernsey and Jersey), Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia , Faroe Islands, Finland, France (including Corsica), French Territories (including French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Mayotte, Reunion, Saint Martin), Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Isle of Man, Italy (including Vatican City), Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal (including Madeira), Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain (including Canary and Balearic Islands), Sweden, San Marino, Switzerland, Turkey.