Restore Recycle Bin: How to Restore Contents
When you delete a file in Windows or on the Mac, it is usually moved to the Recycle Bin. You also have the option to move files there directly via the desktop icon. If you haven't emptied the Recycle Bin yet, it's entirely possible to recover lost content.
This is how you restore contents from the Recycle BinUnder Windows, you have the option to delete files at any time. However, these are not immediately removed from the system, but only moved to the Recycle Bin. Using the desktop icon, it is also possible to move files there directly or to open the Recycle Bin. Until you empty it, you can restore the contents at any time. Restoring content to the Recycle Bin is also possible on a Mac and other operating systems. In some cases, you can also recover files deleted from the Recycle Bin.
- Go to the Recycle Bin icon on the desktop and double-click the icon with your left mouse button.
- Once the Recycle Bin menu has opened, you will see a list of all the files that are currently in the Recycle Bin.
- Find the file you want to restore in the list that appears.
- Select it by right-clicking on the entry.
- Another context menu will open. Wählen Sie hier die Option „Wiederherstellen“ aus.
- Anschließend erscheint die zuvor gelöschte Datei wieder auf Ihrem Desktop.