Netflix is sending an email to all its users who haven't used the service for more than a year, deleting those that are inactive
If in the next few days you receive an email from Netflix asking you to confirm your subscription to the streaming platform, rest assured, it's not a phishing attack. Netflix has published a note on its website, warning users: in a few days will start an email campaign against those who have subscribed for more than a year, but have never logged on the service.
In case there is no response from the user, the subscription will be canceled automatically, but the user can always come back to reactivate it. This decision is part of the policy carried out by Netflix in recent years to make it easy to both subscribe and unsubscribe. Anyone who reactivates their subscription on Netflix within 10 months of discontinuation will find all their settings saved, including TV series and movies that they started watching, but had not yet finished.
Why Netflix wants to delete unused accounts
It may happen sometimes to subscribe to a service and decide after a few months not to use it anymore, forgetting, however, to cancel the subscription. For this reason Netflix has decided to help users who continue to pay the subscription, but do not use it for quite some time, because, as stated in the statement "the last thing we want at Netflix is to see people pay for something that they do not use".
For this reason, in the coming days Netflix will send an email to all those who one year after subscribing to the platform have never logged in and those who do not use the service for more than two years. In the message, users will have to confirm their intention to continue with the subscription, otherwise it will be automatically deactivated. At any time the user will be able to re-enter their account to reactivate it. Inactive profiles represent only 0.5% of all those on Netflix.
To ensure continuity for all users who decide to reactivate Netflix even after cancelling their subscription, for 10 months their settings will remain saved, including the movies and TV series they were watching